Afghanistan vs Uganda Highlights, T20 World Cup 2024 Group C match in Guyana: Afghanistan thrash Uganda by 125 runs – Firstpost

1 minute, 50 seconds Read

This post was originally published on 3rd party site mentioned on the title ofthis site


Afghanistan bowled T20 World Cup debutants Uganda out for a meagre 58 after setting them a challenging 184 to win at the Providence Stadium in Guyana.
read more

Afghanistan vs Uganda, T20 World Cup Group C match in Guyana Preview: Afghanistan will seek inspiration from their stellar ICC ODI World Cup campaign last year as they aim to begin their journey in the 2024 T20 World Cup with a victory over Uganda in Guyana on Monday (Tuesday morning in India).

T20 World Cup 2024: 
Points Table

Incidentally, it was in the Caribbean where the Afghans had made their maiden appearance in a global cricketing event 14 years ago, being part of the group in the 2010 T20 World Cup that had India and South Africa in it. The Afghans would fail to move past the first round in 2010, 2012 and 2014, but would show steady improvement from the 2016 edition onwards by progressing till the second round.


The Afghans had a watershed moment in last year’s ODI World Cup where they defeated then-defending champions England as well as Pakistan and Sri Lanka besides pulling off a historic win against Australia, and were in contention of reaching the semi-finals at one point. They had missed out on a top-four finish back then, but will be hoping to make a maiden appearance in the knockouts this time around.

As for Uganda, they are making their maiden appearance in a global cricketing event involving the world’s top sides, finishing among the top two in the African Qualifier, beating Test-playing nation Zimbabwe along the way. The Cricket Cranes aren’t exactly among the teams fancied to progress to the Super Eights from a group that also comprises South Africa and Sri Lanka, but will be hoping to leave a lasting impression with a victory or two on World Cup debut.


Uganda: Ronak Patel, Robinson Obuya, Alpesh Ramjani, Roger Mukasa(wk), Riazat Ali Shah, Dinesh Nakrani, Brian Masaba(c), Kenneth Waiswa, Cosmas Kyewuta, Juma Miyagi, Henry Ssenyondo, Fred Achelam, Frank Nsubuga, Bilal Hassan, Simon Ssesazi

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Gulbadin Naib, Ibrahim Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Ishaq(wk), Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Rashid Khan(c), Nangeyalia Kharote, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad Malik, Karim Janat, Noor Ahmad

Similar Posts

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop