T20 World Cup 2024: Afghanistan announce former CSK star as bowling consultant – WION

1 minute, 26 seconds Read

This post was originally published on 3rd party site mentioned on the title ofthis site


Afghanistan has announced former West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo as their bowling consultant for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024. The T20 WC, scheduled to start from June 1, is being hosted jointly by the USA and Caribbean. Afghanistan are placed in Group C with New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Uganda and West Indies. 

“The 40-year-old Bravo was a former right-arm medium-fast bowling all-rounder for West Indies, having played 295 international matches, scoring 6423 runs and picking up 363 wickets. He has also 100 FC, 227 List A and a mammoth 573 T20 caps to his name,” ACB said in an official statement.

Bravo made his debut for West Indies in 2004 and retired as one of the most successful players ever. The all-rounder played 40 Tests, scoring 2,200 runs and taking 86 wickets. In ODIs, Bravo played 164 games and scored 2,968 runs while taking 199 wickets as well. The all-rounder also played 91 T20Is, scoring 1,255 runs and taking 78 wickets.

It was in global T20 leagues that Bravo became a household name. The all-rounder has played a whopping 573 matches, scoring 6,957 runs at a strike rate of 125 and taking 625 wickets as well.

Afghanistan would be looking to use Bravo’s experience and hoping to beat the big names in the marquee tournament. Afghanistan team has recently been terrific in international cricket including in the ODI World Cup 2023 in India where they did beat Pakistan emphatically.

The Rashid Khan-led side starts their campaign on June 4 against Uganda before taking on the Kiwis on June 8, Papua New Guinea on June 14 and West Indies on June 18.

Afghanistan squad for T20 World Cup 2024: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Ishaq, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan (c), Nangyal Kharoti, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi and Fareed Ahmad Malik.

Similar Posts

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop